In the early 1500s, the Council of Three Fires split off into three separate groups:

  • Chippewa (“Keepers of the Faith”)
  • Ottawa (“Keepers of the Trade)”
  • Potawatomi (“Keepers of the Sacred Fire”)

The Potawatomi migrated south to Michigan’s Lower Peninsula and lived there until the Iroquois drove them to Michigan’s Upper Peninsula and then to what would become Door County, Wisconsin in the late-1600s.


“Potawatomi History.” Indian Country Wisconsin, Milwaukee Public Museum,

“The Northeast Culture Area.” Ya-Native,